Latest News

'Paving the Way' has won a Judges' Award

Posted on: November 4th 2016

Paving the way thank youLocal community energy project ‘Paving the Way’ has won a Judges’ Award from the M&S Energy Community Energy Fund

Amery Hill School’s ‘Paving the Way’ project has won the Judges’ Award in a national renewable community energy project competition run by M&S Energy.

Whilst the majority of winners are selected via a public vote, ‘Paving the Way’ was one of two groups to be awarded the prestigious judges’ prize. The panel of judges consisted of Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall (Writer & Broadcaster), Sir Ed Davey (Chairman of Mongoose Energy & Former Secretary of State for DECC), Giles Bristow (Director at Forum for the Future) and Morven Smith (Head of Community Investment at SSE).

Paving the way NewsheadThe project involves installing ‘Pavegen’ floor tiles, in the ICT corridor which will generate electricity from students’ footsteps. The installation will enable students and staff to engage with a tangible, renewable energy solution and will help them recognise the opportunities for an innovative off-grid energy technology within high footfall areas, regardless of the weather.

Talking on BBC Radio Surrey, Project Owner, Mrs Amanda Denton, commented “Amery Hill School is really excited to have won the judges’ award as it will not only help to educate our students on the benefits of green technology but those of our local primary schools and the wider community. A massive thank you to everyone who voted for us.”

The energy harnessed and converted from student and staff footsteps using the ‘Pavegen’ tiles is an innovative and effective renewable energy source. Not only does the system harvest energy but the tiles are fitted with wireless technology which will provide detailed real-time feedback on the power generated. The energy harvested can be used to power low-voltage local applications and we plan to use this to light the ICT corridor.

The judging panel were impressed by school’s approach to embracing new technology: “The Amery Hill School project is one of the most innovative projects in the competition this year. The judges quickly agreed on awarding this project once they saw the great video made by the students of Amery Hill School. The judges were impressed that a new form of technology had been proposed, but mostly were excited by the prospect of the whole school getting involved to power the school through just their footsteps.”

Sir Ed Davey said, “It’s been an absolute pleasure to be involved in the judging panel for the M&S Energy Community Energy Fund.  All the winners will make a real difference to their local communities, made possible through this fund. The level of community support during the voting stages is a clear confirmation that community energy is thriving and communities around Great Britain want and need it – more so at this time of uncertainty in the community energy field. The judge’s prizes were for stand out projects, presenting some unique and innovative ways to think about energy saving.” 

Also in the News

Presentation Evening at The Maltings
Posted on: 16/01/2018

Presentation Evening at The Maltings

It was lovely to welcome so many former students to the Alton Maltings for last year’s Presentation Evening and to hear about their current studies and ambitions for the future.  Our thanks to the Amery Hill Association for kindly providing the  refreshments for the evening and for donating all the Award Prizes. Ms Keen introduced students who were presented with their certificates and special Subject Achievement Awards were introduced by Heads of Department. Effort, contribution and achievement were celebrated throughout the evening. A massive thank you to everyone who supported the event, including those who donated to the retiring collection. A fabulous £197.85 was raised for ‘Make a Wish Foundation’, a charity this year group have supported throughout their time at Amery Hill School.  We look forward to hearing about this year groups’ progress in future years and wish them every success.  Award  Recipient  Art  Rebecca Gordon  D & T: Electronics & Control Systems Kyle Barber  D & T: Resistant Materials Phoebe Neville  D & T: Food Technology Gemma Elliott  Drama Jamie Walker  English Dylan Brown & Eliza Gange  Geography Gemma Elliott  History Ed King  Computing Monty Moran  ICT CiDA Jo Pasfield  Additional Maths Monty Moran  Maths Freya Cannings  Media Studies Alisha Frost  Creative Digital Media Production Ben Walker  MFL: French Lucy Bayliss  MFL: German Alf Hamer  MFL: Spanish Siriol Whomsley  Music Charlie Bray  PE Paloma Sims  Religious Studies Asher Smart  Science: Biology Giles Hartley  Science: Chemistry Molly Bennett  Science: Physics Francesco Tesolin  Health & Social Care Bria Ferne  Outstanding Attendance Megan Ameer-Beg & Katrina Cave  Head Girl Lucy Bayliss  Head Boy Giles Hartley  Progress Leader Prize Shannon Bulbeck  Governors' Prize Dylan Brown  View Article