Latest News

Students help Healthwatch Hampshire

Posted on: January 4th 2017

Students help Healthwatch Hampshire to raise awareness of A&E issues

Amery healthwatch projectYear 10 students at Amery Hill School have been working alongside Healthwatch, the independent consumer champion for health and social care in England, whose aims are to help people get the best out of their local health and social care services; whether it’s improving them today or helping to shape them for tomorrow.

During 'Healthwatch Week' in April 2016, Healthwatch Hampshire visited Amery Hill School presenting assemblies to Year 8 and 9 students and to all the pupils at Bishops Waltham Junior School; the students and pupils were encouraged to speak up about their experiences of health and social care and were invited to participate in a survey.  The results indicated that just over two thirds of the students and pupils surveyed thought that accident and emergency services were most important to them.

Amery Hill students were invited to collaborate with Healthwatch Hampshire and Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (HHFT) on a project to produce a short video to:

  1. Help to improve the understanding of children and young people in Hampshire about their local emergency health care services
  2. Help providers of local emergency health care services to better understand the particular needs of children and young people, for whom emergency departments are often the ‘front door’ to access health care in hospitals.

HHFT, who manage the emergency departments in Winchester and Basingstoke, visited the school in the summer term when Dr Helen Crossley, a Consultant in Emergency Medicine and Lorna Farmer, an Emergency Nurse Practitioner were interviewed and filmed by the Amery Hill students, with support from Healthwatch Hampshire.

Healthwatch Hampshire representative Mr Steve Manley commented “Amery Hill School, worked with us throughout the project, allowing us to speak to their assembly, whose staff, particularly Mr Lewis, Progress Leader for Year 10, were patient and generous with their time, and whose students were funny and intelligent beyond our expectations.”

To read the report click here

To watch the video click here


Also in the News